[Eng Sub] Miss truth Ep 32 & 33

Synopsis: Set in the Tang Dynasty, Ran Yu is a noblewoman who becomes interested in forensic science after her Mother’s mysterious suicide and begins to solve murder cases. She meets a judicial official and an assassin by chance and finds true love through the course of searching for the truth.

Translator notes:

  1. Blossom Monarch Butterfly: I couldn’t find a butterfly that quite fit the description nor a scientific name for it. When I googled it most of the articles about this butterfly was related to the drama so I just translated the chinese name. Apparently there are no butterflies that can actually kill a human no matter how venomous they are (monarch butterflies being one of them) and can only make you feel unwell if you eat one which hopefully we won’t. Plus I don’t think butterflies can spin cocoons only caterpillars/butterfly larvae can so again like a lot of the science in this drama it fails to convince me. But I rarely wear my scientific hat when I’m watching these kinds of dramas.
  2. Slept on brushwood: This is a chinese idiom that means going through lots of hardship for your ultimate goal(s). Part of this idiom that was inspired by Goujian, the king of the Kingdom Yue as it referred to his perseverance despite becoming a slave and prisoner of war to the king of Wei. To gain the the trust of the king of Wei he slept on brushwood, even eating the other king’s dung in order to gain his trust and return to his native country and then eventually after 10 years he secretly rebuilt his kingdom and annexed Wei and forced the King of Wei to commit suicide. (Of course he did that using a honey trap by sending the Xi Shi who was rumored to be the most beautiful woman in chinese history to seduce the king of Wei)
  3. Repairing a broken mirror: This is a chinese saying that is often used to describe a couple who managed to repair their relationship however if we translate it literally it means repairing a broken mirror.
  4. The second character which differentiates young bud and childish is phonetically similar; the first character is the same. Often to mean a certain thing, it requires the combination of different chinese characters joined together to mean that, just like letters of a word.
  5. Drinking vinegar: It means to be jealous

Ep 32

Ep 33

<Prev    Ep 34>

 

45 Comments

  1. Hello productive procrastinator, thanks alot for the subs. Waiting impatiently for the final episodes.

    Like

      1. Same… call me extreme but I literally check my notifications everyday for the new episodes, but on the other hand I’m sad bc it’s ending soon and I will miss Xiao Song.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you again for providing us with English sub.

    Would you planning to do English sub for the Glory of Tang Dynasty 1 & 2 ? We can’t find it anywhere 🙂

    Like

    1. OMG I second this, I know The Glory of Tang Dynasty has season 1 & 2 but if you have time please consider it. I remembered watching all raw episodes for both season with zero Chinese and with my assumption and relied heavily on the images. I would love to rewatch it again but with subs. There’s a lot going on with the plot that I would love to understand it. Also I love Jing tian and Ren Jai lun in there as a married cp as well. Thankyou PP for all your hard work.

      Like

      1. I would love to also watch Glory of Tang Dynasty subbed too if you can. And also, thanks so much for your hard work on Miss Truth!

        Like

    2. With the 2 seasons being almost 100 episodes long and with the kind of ending it has, I cannot imagine this would be the kind of drama she would pick up. But I guess it does not hurt to try. ^^

      Like

      1. Hi yes I quite enjoyed Glory of the Tang Dynasty however it’s a project that I can’t really do by myself because as you mentioned it’s almost 100 episodes long, wordy with some difficult terminology. However I have not found enough people to collaborate with me to complete it that’s why I can’t say I can take the project on for definite. And I think that’s why it’s remained unsubbed for so long not to mention that although it was really sweet in the beginning but then it just gets more and more tragic. I could probably sub a couple of scenes but that’s it for the moment.

        Like

        1. Thank you for the explanation. Really appreciate all you have been doing subbing these wonderful series.

          Like

        2. Thankyou PP for even considering our suggestions. That alone is really wonderful of you. Its totally fine if you didn’t take on the project as you mentions it has many episodes in both seasons with many more difficulties. I hope that after Miss Truth you will find an other amazing project to take on. Thankyou for your hard work until now PP.

          Liked by 1 person

        3. Hi Admin, can’t enjy the videos anymore as you were change the program. Really hope you can fix to the old version. Thank you

          Like

  3. It is so Cliche, That in almost every Chinese Drama the bad person always hits the wall to kill themselves when they get busted lol..Oh that note she didn’t hit it hard enough geeezz Director !!

    Like

  4. I knew that bitch hadnt reformed….but why does she think marrying a man who hates her is a good thing? In that era a married woman is at her husbands mercy. He could make her life a living hell. So she is really delusional.
    Not impressed with the emperor..does he think ANYTHING thru before acting? What an idiot.
    Su yu’s survival isnt looking good either…

    Like

  5. This drama had cutted out some good scenes. I’m not sure if it ever show how they made up or it did but I missed it bc it wasn’t clear enough. I saw a bts video of this drama and in the scene where Ran Yan brought out a fish and knife to the hotel and declare that Xiao song was her husband. Supposedly she gave him a dance show and started kicking and pushing those girls away from Xiao Song’s side. I can’t imagine some other really good and funny scenes btw our CP that was cutted out and we never got to see them. I also heard that there’s an alternative ending as well.

    Liked by 1 person

        1. hello…
          cant open the video in my country…

          please kindly share what you have…
          so we can also appreciate…
          tysm…

          Like

          1. I did find a few more Bts videos on weibo ( the drama’s official page). I can link it, it’s just that a few can’t seem to open the link. If PP can view it, I really hope she can post it up for all of you too watch it. So we all enjoy together. You will get to see some really funny and off camera interactions between the actors Xiao song and Bai Yi ( loyal puppy). you could see the familiarity between the both of them as they had previously starred in a drama as buddies. I really like their real life relationship. After watching how Toby(Xiao Song) is in real life, I fell for him even more. He is so funny and out going, unlike most his characters that he portrayed. Cold and calm…

            Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes please put that dance show link, I also thought the editing was choppy. Had to go back to Ep 31 and look where they made up….there was none. It was just XS being told by the dad he wandering if he got her wrong. Nevertheless, Im just happy to see them having cute scenes together. Shame about the choppy bit.

      Like

  6. Thank you so much PP for the subb. Fish and Fox are so adorable. That whole pet sleeping box and Bi Fang reaction to it is priceless.

    Like

  7. This drama started out really good but now have lost my interest. The plot got way too repetitive! It’s either Run Yu getting kidnapped or getting framed. I’ve lost count of how many times it’s happened. At this point, I’m just watching it because I’ve invested so much time. Hoping the ending won’t let me down.

    Like

  8. Thanks a lot for fantastic job of doing the subtitle. Would you please also subtitle Princess Jieyou in English. I find this series great but the subtitle is only up to episode 7 online. Please….

    Like

  9. tysm PP…

    they’re back….
    but im looking for the scenes on how they repaired the broken mirror…
    i guess they have cut it…

    but im glad … so glad my OTP made it…
    !!!

    Like

Leave a comment